A total of 777 police and paramilitary personnel will be awarded police medals on the eve of Republic Day this year. This includes 100 police gallantry medals, 597 police medals for meritorious service and 80 President's police medal for distinguished service, reports the Times of India. 

The gallantry tally is led by Jammu and Kashmir Police with 32 Police Medals for Gallantry (PMG) followed by the country's largest paramilitary CRPF with 16 medals, Andhra Pradesh 12, the Border Security Force five medals, Chhattisgarh seven and one to Sashastra Seema Bal.

Source: b'Source: PTI'

The Home Ministry said that 85% of 597 police medals to be awarded this year will belong to the police officers from lower ranks. Officials also said that the gallantry awards accorded this year were in recognition of brave acts of policemen in 2014 and 2015, reports Indian Express. 

As per the MHA statement, out of the 597 medal winners, 375 (62.8%) were initially recruited as constables, 147 (24.6%) were recruited as ASI/SI, 60 (10%) as deputy SP/ assistant commandant and 15 (2.5%) are IPS officers.

Out of the 100 bravery medals, ten have been decorated posthumously, with Manipur Police Inspector P Sanjoy Singh getting it for a record eighth time.

Interestingly, there have been no Presidents Police Medals for Gallantry (PPMG) awarded this year

While the Jammu and Kashmir police got a majority of these decorations for counter-insurgency operations in the state, the Central Reserve Police Force got them for undertaking dare-devil exploits in anti-Naxal operations in Left Wing Extremism affected states.

Source: b'Source: PTI'

As per an official statement, personnel of Manipur and Assam police have been decorated with four gallantry medals each, Jharkhand nine and Uttar Pradesh got seven.

"777 personnel have been awarded police medals on the occasion of the Republic Day this year. Police Medals for Gallantry (PMG) have been awarded to 100 personnel, Presidents Police Medals for Distinguished Service to 80 personnel and Police Medal for Meritorious Service to 597 personnel," the statement said.

(With inputs from PTI)

(Feature image source: PTI)