In a fine gesture, the Sports Ministry today announced that medallists from the Paralympics in Rio De Janeirowill be given cash awards at par with the medal winners of last month's Olympic Games.

"Gold medallists of #Paralympic Games are entitled to Rs 75 Lacs, Silver Rs 50 Lacs & Bronze Rs 30 Lacs as cash award from MYAS," the Ministry tweeted from its official handle.

"This cash award to the #Paralympic medallists is at par with medallists of #Olympics," it added.

Source: b'Devendra won the gold in 2004 and has qualified for Rio 2016.\xc2\xa0'

India has sent its biggest-ever contingent of 17 athletes to the Rio Paralympics starting 7 September.

Devendra Jhajharia, India's first Paralympic gold medallist (Athens 2004), is in the squad and will be eyeing a medal at the javelin throw event in the F46 category.

After PV Sindhu and Sakshi Malik, it's now the turn of India's Paralympians to shine.

The Squad: Mariyappan Thangavelu (high jump), Varun Singh Bhati (high jump), Pooja (archery), Sharad Kumar (high jump), Rampal Chahar (high jump), Sundar Singh Gurjar (javelin throw), Devendra Jhajaria (javelin throw), Rinku (javelin throw), Narender Ranbir (javelin throw), Sandeep (javelin throw), Amit KumarSaroha (club throw), Deepa Malik (shot put), Dharambir (club throw), Ankur Dhama (1500 metres), Basha Farman (powerlifting), Suyash Narayan Jadhav (swimming), Naresh Kumar Sharma (shooting).