A Munger court Thursday awarded death sentence to five Naxalites after convicting them of murder of two CRPF jawans in an ambush during the 2014 Lok Sabha polls in Bihar. 

Source: b'Representational Image/ Source: PTI'

Additional Sessions Judge (I) Jyoti Swarup Srivastava also slapped a fine of Rs 25,000 on each of the convicts -- Vipin Mandal, Adhiklal Pandit, Ratu Koda, Wano Koda and Manu Koda. 

According to the prosecution, about 50 Naxalites ambushed a vehicle carrying CRPF jawans on the Gangta-Lakshmipur road under Kharagapur police station area, killing two jawans and injuring 10 others, in April 2014. 

The slain jawans were Som Gawda and Ravindra Rai. 

(Feature image source: PTI)