According to reports, this award will be received by commanding officer Group Captain Satish Pawar on Air Force’s 87th anniversary celebrations on October 8. 

IAF Chief Air Marshal RKS Bhadauria will award unit citation to Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman’s 51 Squadron for preventing the aerial attack and shooting down a Pakistani F-16 jet. 

The 9 Squadron whose Mirage 2000 fighter jets dropped laser-guided bombs on the Jaish camp inside Pakistan on February 26 will be awarded a citation.   

the statesman

Reports mention that Squadron Leader Minty Agarwal’s 601 Signal Unit will get a citation too for preventing an approaching air strike by Pakistani jets on February 27.

Zee news

On the occasion of the 87th anniversary, IAF has planned a lot of events which include air display by various aircraft. The airshow will commence with flag bearing skydivers of renowned AKASH GANGA Team jumping from AN-32 aircraft.