Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) student wing Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad once again swept the Delhi University Students’ Union (DUSU) elections this year and clinched all four positions with a margin of over 4,500 votes on each seat. The Congress-affiliated National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) trailed to second position while the debutant Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS) of the Aam Aadmi Party failed to even open its account.

Satender Awana was elected president of DUSU while Sunny Dedha won vice-president’s post. Anjali Rana and Chhattarpal Yadav have been elected as secretary and joint secretary respectively.

According to Chief Election Officer for DUSU polls, DS Rawat, Awana polled 20,439 votes defeating Pradeep Vijayran of NSUI who polled 14,112 votes for the post of president. Dedha, a law student, defeated CYSS candidate Garima Rana by a margin of 7,570 votes. The margin for the posts of secretary and joint secretary were 4,610 and 6,065 votes. While Anjali Rana defeated NSUI’s Amit Sehrawat to win the post of secretary, Yadav bagged the joint secretary position defeating NSUI’s Deepak Choudhary.

Union minister and Senior BJP leader, Arun Jaitley, who himself was a prominent DUSU leader during his college days congratulated the winning candidates:

Here is what BJP president Amit Shah tweeted:

(With inputs from PTI)

Feature image source: PTI