Today (8th August), former President Pranab Mukherjee will be awarded the Bharat Ratna (the highest civilian award) by President Ramnath Kovind, according to reports

The award ceremony will take place in Rashtrapati Bhavan at 6 PM in the evening. 

Mukherjee was awarded India’s highest civilian honour, along with renowned musician Bhupen Hazarika and Bharatiya Jan Sangh founder Nanaji Deshmukh, in January.

Today, Hazarika and Deshmukh will also be honoured at the ceremony. 

Pranab Muherjee is being given this honour for his long and illustrious political career. He served the country as a Defence Minister, Finance Minister, External Affairs Minister, Leader of Lok Sabha, Leader of Rajya Sabha and as the President of India between 2012 to 2017.

On being honoured with this prestigious award former President Pranab Mukherjee said, “It is with a deep sense of humility and gratitude to the people of India that I accept this great honour, Bharat Ratna, bestowed upon me.”

He further added, “I have always said and I repeat, I have got more from the people of our great country than I have given to them.”

Even Prime Minister Narendra Modi hailed his nomination by tweeting this:

The other Presidents, who had been conferred the Bharat Ratna include Dr. S. Radhakrishnan, Rajendra Prasad, Zakir Hussain and V.V. Giri.