From Test cricket to 50 overs to 20 overs. Cricket has shrunk to different formats over the years and now it’s time for Ten 10 cricket. 

Virender Sehwag, Chris Gayle, Shahid Afridi and Kumar Sangakkara have signed up for a 10-over format league, named Ten Cricket League, in the UAE.


 The league will have 10-over-a-side match with 90 minutes of action, spread over four days.

Some of the teams playing in the league are – Team Punjabis, Team Pakhtoons, Team Maratha, Team Banglas, Team Lankans, Team Sindhis and Team Keralites, among others. Former Pakistan skipper, Afridi will lead Team Pakhtoons.


 The event will begin on December 21 and culminate on December 24 at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Shaji ul Mulk, president of TCL, said, “We are very excited about the concept of T10 as it brings cricket to the level of world sports of 90 minutes and fast pace action.


“We all enjoy T20. Wait till you experience T10! We have based this league on a South Asian concept as we have a dominant south Asian, cricket crazy population in the UAE and GCC,” he said.

The auction will be conducted in the United Arab Emirates.

(With PTI inputs)

Feature image: PTI/AFP