Team India produced a brilliant performance to beat Sri Lanka by 117 runs to claim the 3 rd and the final Test and with that the 3-match series for the first time since 1993.

Sri Lanka, chasing 386 runs to avoid a series loss, could only manage 268/10 courtesy a terrific spell of bowling by Ishant Sharma (3/32) and R Ashwin (4/69).

Lanka captain Angelo Mathews made a valiant 110 and got fighting support from debutant Kusal Perera (70) but they couldn’t avoid the inevitable.

This is Kohli’s first Test series win and India’s first overseas series since the 2011 triumph in West Indies.

All images courtesy: CRICINFO