CSK vs MI Head to Head

PlayedCSK WonMI WonTieNo Result

The 14th edition of the Indian Premier League is all set to kickstart on April 09. After last year’s last-ball thriller, it’ll be exciting to watch the Yellow and Blue on the opening encounter of IPL 2021. 

The MI vs CSK rivalry is one of the oldest in the history of the Indian Premier League. They are the two most successful teams and have managed to grab eyeballs and make it to the headlines every season. 

Whenever these two teams face each other, the emotions of thousands of people are involved. Neck to neck battles and breathtaking shots are what the fans look out for at the end of the day.

Both the teams faced each other for the first time in Chennai’s M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in 2008. These two teams have played against each other 30 times in the league and Mumbai has won 18 of them while Chennai has won the remaining 12.

Looking at the last five encounters alone, Mumbai Indians have managed to defeat CSK in all of them. MI is the only team that holds such an impressive win percentage against CSK.

Raina has been the leading run-scorer for Chennai against Mumbai and Rohit has been the leading run-getter for Mumbai against Chennai.

After Malinga, Pollard is the leading wicket-taker of Mumbai Indians against CSK while Bravo has been leading the CSK bowling attack against Mumbai. 

Both the teams will be missing the presence of their star players - Suresh Raina (CSK), Harbhajan Singh (CSK), and Lasith Malinga (MI), nonetheless the whole world is geared up for the opening encounter of IPL 2021. 

Looking at the records MI has an upper hand over CSK statistically, as they enjoy a slightly higher win percentage. Yet again, uncertainty is the only certainty in the shorter formats. The intensity of these matches increases only because of the rivalry that they share. The presence of the big-names in both these squads makes the audience glued to their seats. It’ll be interesting to see the Yellow Army take on Mumbai’s Paltan. 

12008IPL 2008ChennaiCSK6 runsMatthew Hayden – CSK – 81 (46)
22008IPL 2008MumbaiMI9 wicketsSanath Jayasuriya– MI – 114* (48)
32009IPL 2009Cape TownMI19 runsSachin Tendulkar– MI – 59* (49)
42009IPL 2009Port ElizabethCSK7 wicketsMatthew Hayden – CSK – 60* (57)
52010IPL 2010MumbaiMI5 wicketsSachin Tendulkar– MI – 72 (52)
62010IPL 2010ChennaiCSK24 runsSuresh Raina – CSK – 73 (28) and 1/12
72010IPL 2010Navi MumbaiCSK22 runsSuresh Raina – CSK – 57* (35) and 1/21
82011IPL 2011MumbaiMI8 runsHarbhajan Singh – MI – 5/18
920112011 CLT20ChennaiMI3 wicketsLasith Malinga – MI – 1/29 and 37* (18)
102012IPL 2012ChennaiMI8 wicketsRichard Levi – MI – 50 (35)
112012IPL 2012MumbaiMI2 wicketsDwayne Smith – MI – 24* (9)
122012IPL 2012BangaloreCSK38 runsMahendra Singh Dhoni – CSK – 51* (20)
1320122012 CLT20JohannesburgCSK6 runsBen Hilfenhaus– CSK – 2/14
142013IPL 2013ChennaiMI9 runsKieron Pollard – MI – 57* (38) and 1/40
152013IPL 2013MumbaiMI60 runsMitchell Johnson – MI – 3/27
162013IPL 2013DelhiCSK48 runsMichael Hussey – CSK – 86* (58)
172013IPL 2013KolkataMI23 runsKieron Pollard – MI – 60* (32) and 1/34
182014IPL 2014DubaiCSK7 wicketsMohit Sharma – CSK – 4/14
192014IPL 2014MumbaiCSK4 wicketsDwayne Smith – CSK – 57 (51)
202014IPL 2014MumbaiCSK7 wicketsSuresh Raina – CSK – 54* (33)
212015IPL 2015MumbaiCSK6 wicketsAshish Nehra - CSK - 3/23
222015IPL 2015ChennaiMI6 wicketsHardik Pandya – MI – 21* (8)
232015IPL 2015MumbaiMI25 runsKieron Pollard - MI - 41 (17)
242015IPL 2015KolkataMI41 runsRohit Sharma - MI - 40 (26)
252018IPL 2018MumbaiCSK1 wicketDJ Bravo - CSK - 68 (30)
262018IPL 2018PuneMI8 wicketsRohit Sharma - MI - 53 (33)
272019IPL 2019MumbaiMI37 runsHardik Pandya - MI - 25 (8)
282019IPL 2019ChennaiMI46 runsRohit Sharma- MI - 67(48)
292019IPL 2019ChennaiMI6 WicketsSurya Kumar Yadav-MI- 71*(54)
302019IPL 2019HyderabadMI1 RunJasprit Bumrah-MI- 2/14
312020IPL 2020SharjahMI10 WicketsTrent Boult- MI- 4/18
322020IPL 2020Abu DhabiCSK5 WicketsAmbati Raydu-CSK- 71 (48)

Also, read about CSK vs RCB Head to Head and Most Sixes In IPL at ScoopWhoop.

As IPL Starts Today, I'm Just Excited To See Mahi Play For The First Time Since THAT WC Semi-Final

As IPL Starts Today, I'm Just Excited To See Mahi Play For The First Time Since THAT WC Semi-Final