Every new edition of the Indian Premier League never fails to surprise us. Each time a different player emerges and ends up bagging the orange cap. The cap usually keeps interchanging within the players itself during the tournament. When the season concludes, whoever has the highest tally of runs, ultimately becomes the orange cap holder. 

Till date 12 players have bagged the orange cap. 

YearWinners (Player)InningsRunsHighest ScoreAverageStrike Rate501004s6s
2008Shaun Marsh (KXIP)1161611568.44139.68515926
2009Matthew Hayden (CSK)125728952144.81506022
2010Sachin Tendulkar (MI)156188947.53132.6150863
2011Chris Gayle (RCB)1260810767.55183.13325744
2012Chris Gayle (RCB)1473312861.08160.74714659
2013Michael Hussey (CSK)177339552.35129.5608117
2014Robin Uthappa (KKR)166608344137.78507418
2015David Warner (SRH)145629143.23156.54706521
2016Virat Kohli (RCB)1697311381.08152.03748338
2017David Warner (SRH)1464112658.27141.81416326
2018Kane Williamson (SRH)177358452.5142.44806428
2019David Warner (SRH)1269210069.2143.86815721

Most Orange Cap Winners

Shaun Marsh (KXIP) won the first Orange cap honor one time in the inaugural season of the IPL, and it has been twice won by Chris Gayle (RCB) for two consecutive years viz. 2011 and 2012. The cap was then won thrice by David Warner (SRH) in the year 2015, 2017, and 2019.

IPL 2019 Orange Cap Winner - David Warner (SRH)

David Warner

After 2015 and 2017, David Warner bagged the orange cap for the third time in 2019. His unbeaten century against RCB was the climax of the tournament. Even though he left the tournament mid-way due to prior national commitments, he managed to score 692 runs in the 12 innings that he played.

IPL 2018 Orange Cap Winner - Kane Williamson (SRH)  

Kane took charge of the entire SRH pack when Warner wasn’t available during the 2018 edition. He scored a massive 735 runs with 8 half-centuries in seventeen innings with a decent average strike rate of 142. He successfully guided his team to the finals of the 2018 edition. 

IPL 2017 Orange Cap Winner - David Warner (SRH)

Warner carried his pristine form into the 2017 IPL edition. He managed to score 641 runs throughout the season. His 126 of merely 59 proved to be a turning point during SRH’s match against KKR. The opening combination of Warner and Shikhar Dhawan always leaves the viewers bewildered. 

IPL 2016 Orange Cap Winner - Virat Kohli (RCB)  

Right from the inception of the Indian Premier League, Virat has been an integral part of RCB. His flexibility and ability to adapt helped RCB reach the finals of the tournament in 2016. His record of 973 runs remains intact and unbeaten.   

IPL 2015 Orange Cap Winner - David Warner (SRH) 

David Warner’s form throughout the season had been unbeatable and unmatchable. The flair of his shots was completely atypical. Warner has always led his team by example, regardless of the situation. He managed to score 562 runs in the eighth edition of the IPL, thus making him the orange cap winner.   

IPL 2014 Orange Cap Winner - Robin Uthappa (KKR)

Robin Uthappa became the second Indian after Sachin Tendulkar to achieve this feat. He had eight 40+ scores in this season. KKR rode on Uthappa’s back and went on to win the 2014 title. His 83 of 51 against RCB was one of his best knocks. Uthappa scored 660 runs throughout this season of the tournament. 

IPL 2013 Orange Cap Winner - Michael Hussey (CSK)

Consistent performance by individual players has always been CSK’s mantra to success. That’s how Hussey performed throughout this season for his franchise. Gayle missed out 2013’s Orange Cap by a mere 25 run margin. Nonetheless, Hussey’s 86 of 58 against the mighty Mumbai Indians, was a treat to watch! Hussey amassed 733 runs in this edition.  

IPL 2012 Orange Cap Winner - Chris Gayle (RCB)  

Chris Gayle

In 2012, yet again, the Gayle storm managed to annihilate most of the opponent teams. By now, Gayle had already gained the reputation of the ‘big hitter’ and every time he stepped on the field, the crowd expected him to showcase his power-hitting prowess. He ended up scoring 733 runs in this season. His 128 of just 62 balls against Delhi Daredevils was utterly startling.

IPL 2011 Orange Cap Winner - Chris Gayle (RCB)

Gayle managed to end the 2011 season with an exceptional strike rate of 183 and a run tally of 608. The ‘six machine’ was chosen as a last-minute replacement for Dirk Nannes and managed to become the hero in the eyes of the crowd.

IPL 2010 Orange Cap Winner - Sachin Tendulkar (MI)

Sachin Tendulkar

Even though Mumbai couldn’t pull through the finals of the 2010 edition, Sachin Tendulkar, managed to garner the most runs in this season. His tally of 618 runs in merely 15 matches with a strike rate of a little over 132, had been quite astonishing. 

IPL 2009 Orange Cap Winner - Matthew Hayden (CSK)

CSK has no doubt been one of the most consistent teams in the history of the Indian Premier League. Hayden’s ability to toss the ball out of the park right from the very first over, helped him score 572 runs, eventually making him the highest run-scorer in the second season of the tournament.  

IPL 2008 Orange Cap Winner - Shawn Marsh (KXIP)

Shawn managed to amass 616 runs for his KXIP franchise throughout the 2008 season. The cumulation of more than 600 runs in the very first season raised the bar higher for others. Shawn’s 115 vs RR and 81 vs MI were the highlights of the entire season. He consequently became the very first player to earn the orange cap. 

Also, read about Purple Cap Winners and IPL Winners from 2008 to 2019 at ScoopWhoop.