The Purple Cap is an award given to the leading wicket-taker in the Indian Premier League. The bowler with most wickets in the tournament during the course of the season would wear the Purple Cap while fielding, with the overall leading wicket-taker at the conclusion of the tournament winning the actual Purple Cap award on the day of the season's final.

Gone are those days where the result of a match depended only on the way the batsmen performed. The bowlers have an equally important role to play today. Every year in the IPL, the bowlers with the highest wicket tally are awarded the Purple Cap. 

So far, there have been 12 editions and every edition has had a Purple Cap winner.

YearPlayerTeamMatchesWicketsAverageEconomyStrike Rate4W5W
2008Sohail TanvirRajasthan Royals112212.096.4611.2211
2009RP SinghDeccan Chargers162318.136.9815.510
2010Pragyan OjhaDeccan Chargers162120.427.2916.800
2011Lasith MalingaMumbai Indians162813.395.9513.501
2012Morne MorkelDelhi Daredevils162518.127.1915.110
2013Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings183215.537.9511.710
2014Mohit SharmaChennai Super Kings162319.658.391410
2015Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings172616.388.141200
2016Bhuvaneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad172321.37.4217.210
2017Bhuvaneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad142614.197.051201
2018Andrew TyeKings XI Punjab142418.6681430
2019Imran TahirChennai Super Kings172616.576.6914.8420

Most Purple Cap Winners 

Sohail Tanvir (RR) won the first Purple cap honor one time in the inaugural season of the IPL, and it has been twice won by Dwayne Bravo (CSK) in 2013 and 2015. The cap then moved to Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) in the year 2016 and 2017.

IPL 2019 Purple Cap Winner - Imran Tahir (CSK)

Imran Tahir

Leg spinner Imran Tahir bagged the Purple Cap during last year’s edition and managed to lead CSK to the 2019 league finals. Tahir got 26 wickets out of 17 matches with a fair economy of 6.69 in this edition.

IPL 2018 Purple Cap Winner - Andrew Tye (KXIP)

Even though KXIP ended the season seventh, Andrew Tye managed to scalp 3 four-fers throughout this edition. He got 24 wickets out of 14 matches in 2018. Tye maintained an average economy of 8 in the league’s 2018 edition. 

IPL 2017 Purple Cap Winner - Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar won the purple cap for the second time in the 2017 edition. He became the first player to retain the cap for two seasons consecutively. He scalped 26 wickets in the tenth edition of the IPL.

IPL 2016 Purple Cap Winner - Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)

SunRisers Hyderabad clinched their maiden IPL title in 2016 and Bhuvneshwar Kumar played a vital role in SRH’s success story. He took 23 wickets with a decent average economy of 7.42. 

IPL 2015 Purple Cap Winner - Dwayne Bravo (CSK) 

Dwayne Bravo won the Purple Cap for the second time in 2015. He had curated 26 wickets in 16 matches. Bravo's best spell came against KKR when he took 3 wickets by merely giving away 22 runs. CSK however did not end up winning the title in 2015. 

Dwayne Bravo

IPL 2014 Purple Cap Winner - Mohit Sharma (CSK)

Mohit Sharma managed to steal the limelight in 2014 by bagging 23 wickets in 16 matches. Despite his terrific bowling performance, his strike rate remained over 8 throughout the season. 

IPL 2013 Purple Cap Winner - Dwayne Bravo (CSK)

Dwayne Bravo became the first-ever bowler to pick up 30+ wickets in one single edition. His dedication towards practice made his form consistent in the sixth edition of the league. He achieved the remarkable feat of scalping 32 wickets within just 18 innings. 

IPL 2012 Purple Cap Winner - Morne Morkel (DD)

The success of Delhi Daredevils in 2012 was heavily reliant on the pace attack of the whole team, where Morne Morkel played an integral part. His 4/20 against Kings XI Punjab was one of the best spells of the season. Morkel managed to amass 25 wickets in this edition. 

IPL 2011 Purple Cap Winner - Lasith Malinga (MI)

Lasith Malinga

Lasith Malinga has always been very instrumental in the success of Mumbai Indians. His 5/13 against Delhi Daredevils, gave Mumbai Indians the required kickstart for the campaign in 2011. With a total tally of 28 wickets and an average economy of 5.95, Malinga was unquestionably the bowler of the season.  

IPL 2010 Purple Cap Winner - Pragyan Ojha (DC)

Pragyan Ojha managed to get 21 wickets from the 16 innings that he bowled for Deccan Chargers in 2010. Ojha became the first spinner who received the Purple Cap in IPL's history. His best bowling figure - 3/21 was in a match that DC eventually lost against MI.  

IPL 2009 Purple Cap Winner - R.P. Singh (DC)

R.P. Singh is renowned for his swing bowling. His in-swing bowling managed to scalp out 23 wickets from 16 matches, thus leading Deccan Chargers to their first-ever IPL trophy. He maintained a really good average economy rate of 6.98 throughout the season. 

IPL 2008 Purple Cap Winner - Sohail Tanvir (RR)

Tanvir bagged 22 wickets in 11 matches in the maiden season of the IPL. Rajasthan Royals went on to cling the title in 2008 and Tanvir had a critical role to play in its victory. This left arm Pakistani pacer was Shane Warne’s most trusted wicket-taker in 2008’s edition. 

Also, read about Most Wicket Takers In IPL and Orange Cap Winners from 2008 to 2019 at ScoopWhoop.