Polling in 22 Assembly seats in the last phase of Assembly elections in Manipur, with focus on Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh's Assembly seat Thoubal where he faces challenge by rights activist Irom Sharmila, began at 7 AM on Wednesday amid tight security. 

Source: b'om Sharmila files nomination at DC Office for upcoming assembly election of Manipur in Thoubal constituency in Manipur. |Source: PTI \xc2\xa0'

A total of 98 contestants will vie for the 22 seats spread across the valley districts of Thoubal and the hill districts of Ukhrul, Chandel, Tamenglong and Senapati. The state has a 19,02,562-strong electorate comprising 9,28,573 male voters and 9,73,989 female voters.

Source: b'Representational image |Source: PTI\xc2\xa0'

 There are around 45,642 new voters. As many as 1,151 polling stations have been set up for the second and last phase of election to the 60-member Assembly. The Election Commission has made elaborate security arrangement by deploying 280 companies of central police forces to keep the election free and fair.