The 2018 Padma awards – Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri – which are the highest civilian awards after Bharat Ratna, were given away by President Ram Nath Kovind on yesterday. 

The names of the 85 recipients were first announced during the 69th Republic Day. Of the 85 recipients, there were 3 Padma Vibhushan awardees, 9 Padma Bhushan awardees and 73 Padma Shri awardees.

Music-maestro Illayaraja and classical singer Ghulam Mustafa Khan were among the 3 Padma Vibhushan awardees, while cricketer M. S. Dhoni was one of 9 recipients of the Padma Bhushan award.

While actor Manoj Joshi won a Padma Shri for his contribution to cinema, Badminton star K Srikanth was awarded the same in the sports category.

Tennis player Somdev Kishore Devvarman also won the Padma Shri in the category of sports. 

Hindustan Times

According to a report by NDTV, the government has made a conscious effort to identify people who’ve made a significant contribution to the society. 

You can check the complete list of the recipients in this report by Hindustan Times. 

Feature image is representational.