As the world's biggest sporting extravaganza comes to an end, the government of India announced the National Sports Awards 2016. 

The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports has released a list of sportspersons and coaches who will be awarded for their spectacular contribution in the field of sports.

The awardees will receive the honours from the President of India at a specially organised function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2016.

Here is the full list:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

It is considered to be the highest sporting award in the country. The awardees receive a cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakh each. It is the for the first time ever that the government will confer this award to four athletes.

The winners are:

PV Sindhu - Badminton 

Source: b'A file photo of PV Sindhu | Source: PTI'

Sakshi Malik - Wrestling 

Source: b'A file photo of Sakshi Malik | Source: PTI'

While India's favourite male wrestling stars failed to make any mark in this year's Games, Sakshi Malik, a young girl from Haryana, won the nation's hearts with her bronze.

Jitu Rai - Shooting 

Source: b'A file photo of Jitu Rai | Source: PTI'

Although he wasn't quite lucky at the Games, the ace shooter of Nepalese origin has had a wonderful stint in major tournaments like World Cup, Commonwealth Games and Asian Games.

Dipa Karmakar - Gymnastics 

Source: b'A file photo of Dipa Karmakar | Source: PTI'


Dronacharya Awards

Here is the list:

Nagapuri Ramesh - Athletics

Sagar Mal Dhayal - Boxing

Raj Kumar Sharma - Cricket

Source: b'Coach Bishweshwar Nandi (left) with Dipa Karmakar | Source: PTI'

Bishweshwar Nandi - Gymnastics

S. Pradeep Kumar - Swimming (Lifetime)

Mahabir Singh - Wrestling (Lifetime)

Arjuna Awards

Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years. The awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs 5 lakh each.

Here is the list:

Rajat Chauhan - Archery

Lalita Babar - Athletics

Sourav Kothari - Billiards & Snooker

Shiva Thapa - Boxing

Source: b'A file photo of Ajinkya Rahane | Source: PTI'

Ajinkya Rahane - Cricket

Subrata Paul - Football

Rani - Hockey

Raghunath V.R.- Hockey

Gurpreet Singh - Shooting

Apurvi Chandela - Shooting

Source: b'A file photo of Subrata Paul | Source: PTI'

Soumyajit Ghosh - Table Tennis

Vinesh - Wrestling

Amit Kumar - Wrestling

Sandeep Singh Mann - Para-Athletics

Virender Singh - Wrestling (Deaf)

Dhyan Chand Award 

It is India's highest award for  lifetime contribution to sports development. The awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs 5 lakh each.

Satti Geetha - Athletics

Sylvanus Dung Dung - Hockey

Rajendra Pralhad Shelke - Rowing

(With inputs from Press Information Bureau