President of India Ramnath Kovind on Saturday appointed governors of five states – Tamil Nadu, Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Meghalaya and Assam. Additionally, former Navy Chief Admiral DK Joshi was appointed Lt Governor of Andaman and Nicobar.

Here are the profiles of the new governors:

1. Banwarilal Purohit (Tamil Nadu)

Banwarilal Purohit, the former governor of Assam, has been appointed as the new governor of Tamil Nadu. A veteran politician from Vidarbha region in Maharashtra, Purohit has a long history of jumping ship between the Congress and the BJP, and also launched his political party once.

He was a three-time Member of Parliament from the Nagpur (Lok Sabha constituency) – in 1984 and 1989 from the Congress party; in 1996 from the BJP.

A staunch supporter of building the Ram Temple in Ayodhya, he first joined the BJP from the Congress during the Ram Janambhoomi movement, but later went back to the Congress, only to return to the BJP.

Purohit is a well-known educationalist and is the managing editor of English daily Hitavada. He was appointed as the governor of Assam in August, 2016.

2. Satya Pal Malik (Bihar)

Former MP and BJP national vice-president, Satya Pal Malik, has been appointed as the new governor of Bihar. The post had fallen vacant after Ram Nath Kovind was elected NDA’s presidential candidate in June.

Malik has served as the Union Minister of State, Parliamentary Affairs and Tourism and has been a Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) during two terms from 1980 to 1984 and from 1986 to 1989. He was a Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) from 1989 to 1990.

He holds a BSc and LLB from Meerut University and is also an agriculturist and active social worker.

3. Jagdish Mukhi (Assam)

Jagdish Mukhi replaces Banwarlal Purohit as the new governor of Assam. Mukhi has been actively involved with the RSS for a long time and has served as Minister of Finance, Planning, Excise and Taxation and Higher Education in the Delhi government.

A veteran leader in Delhi, he has been representing Janak Puri constituency continuously from 1980 and has won seven times from the same constituency. He has taught at Shaheed Bhagat Singh College, Delhi University and is credited with various educational initiatives in the national capital.

Presently, he is the Lieutenant Governor of Andaman & Nicobar Islands.

4. BD Mishra (Arunachal Pradesh)

Brigadier BD Mishra (Retired) has been appointed as the Governor of Arunachal Pradesh.  Mishra, 78, retired as Brigadier in 1995 after spending more than three decades in the Indian Army.

A war veteran, he served in the Sino-Indian war of 1962, in the 1971 Liberation War against Pakistan, and in the 1965 war against Pakistan. 

He played a role in tackling the Naga insurgency movement in 1963-1964 in Nagaland. The Retired Brigadier also fought against the LTTE as the Leading Brigade Commander of the Indian Peace Keeping Force in Sri Lanka in  1987-1988. After his retirement, he had also volunteered for the 1999 Kargil War.

5. Ganga Prasad (Meghalaya)

Ganga Prasad has been appointed as the new governor of Meghalaya. An MLC in Bihar for 18 years, he was elected for the first time in the legislative council in 1994. He has also served as the leader of the BJP in the Legislative Council.