Five alleged Jaish-e-Mohammad operatives attacked the makeshift temple at the disputed Ram Janmabhoomi-Babri Masjid site in Ayodhya on 5th July, 2005 and were gunned down in an encounter with CRPF personnel.

Fourteen years after the Ayodhya terror attack, a special court in Allahabad has sentenced four of the accused to life imprisonment and acquitted one, as reported by Indian Express.

India TV News

Seven CRPF jawans were also injured in the encounter.

Later, five persons, Irfan, Ashiq Iqbal alias Farooque, Shakeel Ahmed, Mohammad Naseem and Mohammad Aziz were arrested in the case, out of which four have been given life-terms by the court today.

A fine of ₹2.4 lakh was also imposed on the convicts by the court.