In the recent federal elections, as many as 18 Sikhs were voted in the Lower House of the Canadian Parliament. 

According to reports, 18 MPs were selected from provinces of Ontario (10), British Columbia (4), Alberta (3) and Quebec (1). 13 of them belong to the Liberal party, 4 of them belong to the Conservative party and 1 belongs to NDP. 

Sikh 24

The Sikh representation in Canadian parliament is more than that in the Indian parliament. Only 13 candidates from the Sikh community were elected in the 17th Lok Sabha election.

Even Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s Cabinet has four Sikh members – Defence Minister Harjit Sajjan, Infrastructure Minister Amarjeet Sohi; Innovation, Science and Economic Development Minister Navdeep Bains and Tourism Minister Bardish Chagger.

Sikhs constitute a total of 2% (approx) of the population in both India and Canada.