The Indian government on Thursday has released a first list of 20 smart cities that will be developed in the country. 

Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu released the list in New Delhi on Thursday. The 20 selected cities have been selected from 98 shortlisted cities marked for the ‘Smart Cities Mission.’

b’Representational Image | Source: Reuters’

The government, hasn’t specified a time frame within which they will complete the conversion of these cities into smart cities. 

Here’s the list:

1. Bhubaneshwar, Odisha

2. Pune, Maharashtra

3. Jaipur, Rajasthan

4. Surat, Gujarat

5. Kochi, Kerala

6. Ahmedabad, Gujarat

b’Representational Image | Source: Reuters’

7. Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh

8. Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh

9. Solapur, Maharashtra

10. Davangere, Karnataka

11. Indore, Madhya Pradesh

12. New Delhi Municipal Corporation

13. Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu

14. Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh

15. Belagavi, Karnataka

16. Udaipur, Rajasthan

17. Guwahati, Assam

18. Chennai, Tamil Nadu

19. Ludhiana, Punjab

20. Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh

Feature image source: PTI