After struggling from being 1-2 down in the five-match series, Indian women cricket team crushed New Zealand by nine wickets in the fifth one day international at Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore on Wednesday, July 8, clinching the hard fought series 3-2.

Immediately after the series win, BCCI announced a cash reward of Rs 21 lakh for the team.

The fifth ODI saw New Zealand top order collapsing and whole team managing only 118 runs in 41 overs.

Chasing the target, Indian batsmen sailed the team home in 28th over after DT Thirushkamini’s spectacular knock of 62 off 78 balls. At the other end, Deepti scored a solid unbeaten 44 0f 78 balls with eight boundaries.

Suzie Bates turned up to be the top-scorer for Kiwis with 42 runs while as left-arm spinner Rajeswari Gayekwad of India had the best figures of 2/15.

BCCI President Jagmohan Dalmiya said: “Congratulations to our skipper Mithali Raj on leading the team with distinction and registering a series win against the New Zealand. Team has shown remarkable character to come back from 1-2 to and win the series. BCCI would like to announce a reward of Rs 21 lakh for the team.”

Brief Scores: New Zealand 118 in 41 overs (Suzie Bates 42, Rajeshwari Gayekwad 2/15, Jhulan Goswami 2/17)

India 121/1 in 27.2 overs (Thirushkamini 62 no, Deepti Sharma 44 no). India won by 9 wickets.