In a solemn ceremony, PM Modi is going to inaugurate the National War Memorial today, which is built near the India Gate as a tribute to the fallen soldiers of the nation.

It will honour the soldiers who lost their lives post-independence in the Indo-China War (1962), Indo-Pak Wars (1947, 1965 and 1971), Indian Peace Keeping Force Operations in Srilanka and in the Kargil War (1999).

The memorial will have four concentric circles, namely:

1. Amar Chakra, which will have the eternal flame and an obelisk. 

2. Veerta Chakra, which will have a bronze murals for different battle actions and will weigh 600kg and 1,000kg. 

3. Tyag Chakra, which will be made of granite bricks bearing the name of all the fallen soldiers since Independence. At present, there are 25, 942 names. 

4. Rakshak Chakra, which will have around 600 trees, signifying the soldiers who protect the people of their nation.

Apart from this, the memorial will have interactive electronic panels for people to pay tributes along with other features like artificial lighting in the evenings and a walking plaza.

While the entry to the complex is free of cost, there are time restrictions for main area and Param Yodha Sthal.

Adjacent to The National War Memorial are bronze busts for the 21 Param Vir Chakra awardees, surrounded by a grass, pathways and informative plaques on their stories of courage from the battle.

PM Modi will inaugurate the memorial by lighting the flame below the stone obelisk. He had earlier said that it always pained him that there was no such structure to honour the soldiers.