The University Grants Commission on Thursday asked Central Universities to include modules of yoga teaching and training in their Bachelor’s and Master’s courses in Physiotherapy. 

Inclusion of Yoga lessons in Physiotherapy courses

In a communication to Vice Chancellors on Thursday, UGC secretary Jaspal S Sandhu referred to a a letter received from the Union HRD ministry seeking inclusion of yoga in Bachelors and Masters of Physiotherapy courses from the forthcoming academic session. 

b’PM Modi performing yoga | Source : AFP’

Last week Joint Secretary in HRD ministry Ishita Roy had written to the UGC secretary in this regard and also informed that Prime Minister Narendra Modi has desired that the possibility of giving preference to candidates with requisite knowledge of yoga, should be explored. 

The Modi government also wants Universities to explore the possibility of a giving preference to candidates who have a certain level of expertise in yoga for admission to the Bachelor’s course in Physiotherapy. 

List of universities that will incorporate yoga 

The list of varsities that will incorporate yoga includes, Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna University (Uttarakhand) in the north, Visva Bharati in the east, Central University of Rajasthan or Central University of Gujarat in Gandhinagar in the west, Central University of Kerala, Kasargod in the south, Indira Gandhi National Tribal University, Amarkantak in central India and Manipur University in north-east, reported Times of India.

Committee on Yoga Education in Universities appointed earlier

Earlier, a government appointed committee on Yoga Education in Universities, headed by H R Nagendra, who is also considered to be the Prime Minister’s yoga guru, had recommended yoga syllabus for a 4 year Bachelor’s course and a 2 year Masters course in physiotherapy. 

The committee had made several recommendations related to setting up of Yoga departments in Universities. Significantly, it had also recommended that expertise of Baba Ramdev’s Patanjali Yogpeeth, S-VYASA Yoga University headed by Nagendra, Dev Sanskriti Vishwavidyalaya (Haridwar), Morarji Desai National Institute of Yoga (New Delhi) and Kaivalyadhama Yoga Institute (Pune) could be used for setting up of these departments.

With inputs from PTI