The ICC today announced the team of the tournament for the World Twenty20, which finished at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Sunday with a cracker of the final won by West Indies.

The teams were chosen by a select group of former cricket stars and commentators and statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.

The XI contained four players from England, two players each from India and the West Indies, and one each from Australia, New Zealand and South Africa.

But there were a few surprises. A certain someone missed out… we’ll leave you to guess who.

1. Jason Roy (England): 183 runs in six matches at an average of 30.50 and a strike-rate of 148.78. Highest – 78. Total 22 fours and 7 sixes.

b’Roy in action against New Zealand in the semis. AFP’

2. Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wicketkeeper): 153 runs in four matches at an average of 38.25 and a strike-rate of 142.99. Highest – 52. Total 18 fours and six sixes.

b’De Kock completes a run. Reuters’

3. Virat Kohli (India, captain): 273 runs in five matches at an average of 136.50 and a strike-rate of 146.77. Highest – 89*. Total 29 fours and five sixes.

b’Virat Kohli. Skipper of this team. AFP’

4. Joe Root (England): 249 runs in six matches at an average of 49.80 and a strike-rate of 146.47. Highest – 83. Total 24 fours and seven sixes.

b’Joe Root. AFP’

5. Jos Buttler (England): 191 runs in six matches at an average of 47.75 and a strike-rate of 159.16. Highest – 66*. Total 13 fours and 12 sixes.

b”Jos Buttler, England’s power-hitter. AFP”

6. Shane Watson (Australia): 96 runs in four matches at an average of 48 and a strike-rate of 150. Highest – 64. Total nine fours and four sixes. Five wickets in 14 overs at an average of 20.60, economy rate of 7.35 and strike-rate of 16.80. Best -2/23.

b’Watson – it was his last international tournament. PTI’

7. Andre Russell (West Indies): 91 runs in six matches at an average of 30.33 and a strike-rate of 142.18. Highest – 43*. Total eight fours and five sixes. Nine wickets in 24 overs at an average of 21, economy rate of 7.87 and strike-rate of 16. Best – 2/23

b’Andre Russell. Reuters’

8. Mitchell Santner (New Zealand): 10 wickets in 18.1 overs at an average of 11.40, economy rate of 6.27 and strike-rate of 10.9. Best – 4/11.

b”New Zealand’s Santner. Reuters”

9. David Willey (England): 10 wickets in 21 overs at an average of 15.90, economy rate of 7.57 and strike-rate of 12.6. Best – 3/20.

b’Willey celebrates a wicket against the Windies in the final. Reuters’

10. Samuel Badree (West Indies): Nine wickets in 23 overs at an average of 13.77, economy rate of 5.39 and strike-rate of 15.3. Best – 3/12.

b’Samuel Badree, almost unplayable. AFP’

11. Ashish Nehra (India): Five wickets in 19 overs at an average of 22.60, economy rate of 5.94 and strike-rate of 22.8. Best – 1/20.

b’Nehra celebrates a wicket. AFP’

In case you haven’t guessed who didn’t make it, it was this man…

Feature image source: AFP