With a tense five-run win against India in the third and final one-day international at the Eden Gardens on Sunday, England earned a consolation victory — their first on their tour of India after they lost the five-test series 4-0 and both previous ODIs.

England seemed set for a comprehensive win despite an injury to seamer David Willey as India lost their top five batsmen for 173 but Kedar Jadhav (90) and Hardik Pandya brought the hosts back in the match with a sixth-wicket stand of 104.

The series that ended 2-1 in favour Virat Kohli’s team saw a plethora of runs being scored. Here are some statistical highlights:

— After remaining unbeaten in 19 international matches since November 2014, India have lost their first match at home (across formats) under Kohli’s captaincy.

— Virat Kohli has become the seventh Indian captain to complete 1,000 runs in ODIs. The leading run-getters for India as captain being Mahendra Singh Dhoni(6633), Mohammad Azharuddin (5239), Sourav Ganguly (5082), Rahul Dravid (2658), Sachin Tendulkar (2454), Kapil Dev (1564) and Kohli (1035).

— Kohli also became the quickest in history to reach 1000 ODI runs as captain.

— England’s five-run thrilling win is their joint-third narrowest victory in terms of runs vs India in ODIs – the smallest being by one run at Cuttack on December 27, 1984.

—  England have posted three 300-plus totals – 350 for seven at Pune; 366 for eight at Cuttack and 321 for eight at Kolkata – a distinction accomplished by them for the first time in an overseas bilateral series.

— Ravindra Jadeja became the first left-arm spinner from India to complete 150 wickets or more in ODIs – his aggregate being 151 at an average of 34.68 in 129 matches. Eleven left-arm spinners have claimed 100 wickets or more in ODIs.

For the first time in a three-match ODI series, over 2000 runs were scored (two teams combined). This series aggregate was 2090 tuns (ave.46.44) for the loss of 45 wickets at an impressive 7.00 RPO, obliterating the 1892 (ave.37.09) for the loss of 51 wickets in the Afro Asia Cup in India in 2007.