In a thrilling match at Kanpur, India beat New Zealand by 6 runs to clinch the three-match ODI series. It was the seventh consecutive ODI series victory under captain Virat Kohli. 

It was exciting till the end. The visitors needed 15 runs to win the match from the last over, but Jasprit Bumrah’s disciplined bowling ensured that Kiwis could not register a historic series win in India. 


Rohit Sharma and Kohli were the stars of India’s batting after they were put in to bat by Kane Williamson. Rohit struck 147 and Kohli smashed 113 to help put 337/6 on the board in 50 overs.

In reply, Colin Munro provided the much-needed explosive start with a quick-fire 75. Williamson also chipped in with a crucial fifty. But they faltered in their chase to end on 331-7 despite a gritty 52-ball 65 by Tom Latham, who was run out in the 48th over.

Fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah claimed three wickets while leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal took two.

Twitter was elated as India clinched another cliffhanger to win the series. 

Feature image: BCCI