Ajinkya Rahane was ignored by MS Dhoni in the last 2 ODIs in Bangladesh and in an interesting turn of events, it will be Rahane who will replace Dhoni on top in India’s tour to Zimbabwe.

Indian selectors have trusted the 27-year-old to lead a second-string Indian side which will play 3 ODIs in Zimbabwe, starting from July 10.

Senior players Dhoni, Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina have been rested among others, while Ravindra Jadeja has been dropped for his mediocre show of late.

Team: Ajinkya Rahane (capt), M Vijay, Ambati Rayudu, Robin Uthappa, Manish Pandey, Manoj Tiwary, Kedar Jadhav, Harbhajan Singh, Axar Patel, Karn Sharma, Dhawal Kulkarni, Stuart Binny, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma, Sandeep Sharma.

All images courtesy: NDTV