Defending champions Kolkata Knight Riders won the first match of the 2015 IPL season by 7 wickets against Mumbai Indians on Wednesday, 8th April. Mumbai had set a target of 169 for Kolkata, who chased it down in 18.3 overs.

Mumbai Indians had a good start as Rohit Sharma scored an unbeaten 98 off just 65 balls, with Corey Anderson adding a quick-fire 55. Morne Morkel restricted what could have been a greater total for MI with figures of 18/2 in 4 overs.

Kolkata captain Gautam Gambhir scored a confident 57 off 43, breaking his bat in the process, and set the tone for the team. Manish Pandey and Suryakumar Yadav contributed 40 and 46 not out respectively and led Kolkata to victory.

Feature image source: danilnews