When it comes to travelling, most of us (who can afford it) prefer aeroplanes over any other mode of transportation, especially when it comes to travelling domestically. And why not? They are comfortable and saves a lot of time. However, in our country itself, there are several famous places where an aircraft is not permitted to fly.     

The reasons are many. While some places are prohibited due to security reasons others are due to them being our prized heritage spots. So here are all the places in India that officially come under the No-Fly Zone :    

1. The Taj Mahal, Agra, Uttar Pradesh 

Lonely Planet

2. The Rashtrapati Bhavan, Delhi 

Delhi Tourism

3. Parliament Building, Delhi 

New Indian Express

4. Prime Minister’s residence, Delhi 


5. The Airspace around many Defence and Indian Air Force bases

The Federal

6. The Tower of Silence, Mumbai

Make My Trip

7. Mathura Refinery, Uttar Pradesh 

India Today

8. Tirupathi Tirumala, Andhra Pradesh

India TV

9. Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai 

Hindustan Times

10. Golden Temple, Amritsar


11. Padmanabhaswamy Temple, Kerala   

Times Now

12. Sriharikota Space Station, Andhra Pradesh 


Well, the next time you’re nearby these places, you’d know why there is no aircraft in sight.