Navratri is the nine-day Hindu festival that has immence religious significance to Hindus. It is celebrated five times a year — Vasanta or Chaitra Navaratri, Ashadha Navaratri, Sharad Navaratri, Paush Navaratri and Magha Navaratri.

However, only Chaitra Navaratri and Sharad Navaratri are the ones which are celebrated by people across the nation.

India Today

There are significant differences between the two. 

While Chaitra Navaratri falls between March and April, Sharada Navaratri takes place during September-October

Make My Trip

The Chaitra Navarati marks the beginning of the Hindu new year as per the Luni-solar calendar and is more prominently celebrated in the Northern and Western parts of India.

Sharada Navaratri, which is also known as Maha Navratari, is celebrated during the lunar period as per the Georgian calendar in Eastern India as Durga Puja. It is celebrated in dedication to the nine forms of Maa Shakti and honours Goddess Durga’s victory over demon Mahishasura after a nine-day-long battle.


Another mythological legend associated with Sharada Navaratri is that Lord Rama worshipped all nine forms of Goddess Durga in order to gain power to defeat Ravana. The tenth day is known as Dussehra when Rama rescued Sita and brought her back home.

The Financial Express

During Chaitra Navaratri, all nine forms of Goddess Durga are celebrated on each day.

Southern India celebrates Sharada Navaratri by worshipping Goddess Laxmi and Goddess Saraswati.


People fast on all nine days for both the Navratris and all days are considered extremely auspicious.